How to Remove Toxic Chemicals From Your Beauty Routine

A little while ago I wrote a post about some of the natural products I use in my beauty routine. Since then, I have learned a bit more about what the chemicals we should avoid and found some better products. I have been switching over to natural products for about a year now and before that, most of the products we used were already paraben free. The more I read about the chemicals used in most common beauty products and makeup, the more I can not believe that anyone would willingly use these products and more importantly, use them on their children.

I am going to list some of the products I use and what I think about them. So far I have been very happy switching to all natural and organic products and surprisingly some aren’t much more expensive. I order most of my products from Amazon because I get tired of going to multiple stores trying to find different products and we have Prime, so the shipping is usually pretty quick. Some of these products you can find in stores like Target and Meijer or in your local natural health foods store.

 

Shampoo & Conditioner: Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo & Desert Essence Coconut Conditioner – Both of these are organic and I really like the coconut scent. I think they both work really well and doesn’t leave my hair dry like some previous natural shampoos & conditioners have. In fact, they are so great I have to use very little of both, so they are lasting quite a long time. Both of these products contain no parabens, EDTA, phthalates, artificial colors, silicones, glycol or petroleum-based ingredients, phosphates or animal testing. Both are vegetarian/vegan, gluten free, cruelty free, biodegradable and recyclable.

Body Lotion: Most of the time I simply use coconut oil such as Viva Labs Organic Extra Virgin Coconut Oil but sometimes that can take time to dry and not be so greasy. I have also used all of these body lotions; Jason 70% Aloe Vera Pure Natural Hand & Body Lotion and Jason Cocoa Butter Hand & Body Lotion. Most, if not all Jason products contain no parabens, SLS, petroleum, artificial colors or phthalates. I also really love this Desert Essence Bulgarian Lavender Hand & Body Lotion. I am really loving a lot of different Desert Essence products. If I can’t find them on Amazon or in local stores, I just order them right from the Desert Essence website, as they have pretty quick shipping.

Skin Care: I use the Burt’s Bee’s Natural Acne Solutions face wash, spot treatment and lotion. I have found it is much cheaper to buy the kit I have linked to instead of buying the products individually. All of Burt’s Bee’s products contain no EDTA, propylene glycol, butylene glycol, parabens, polyisobutene, DMDM hydantoin, phthalates, petrolatum,sodium lauryl, sulfate, sodium laureth sulfate, mineral oil, paraffin, or synthetic sunscreens. And they have no animal testing. I also really like the Desert Essence Tea Tree Oil Facial Cleaning Pads and the Desert Essence Tea Tree Oil Skin Ointment. Also, just plain Witch Hazel is something else I frequently use. You have to check individual products to see if they are vegetarian or vegan, as they do use lanolin in some products. I also love the Burt’s Bees Coconut Pear Chapstick it’s the only chapstick I use!

Makeup: I have not yet used any natural or organic foundations, as they are quite expensive and have mixed reviews. I just ordered the Physicians Formula Organic Wear 100% Natural Origin CC Cream as it had really good reviews online and I love the Physicians Formula Organic Wear line. I also use the Physician’s Formula Organic Wear 100% Natural Bronzer and the Physicians Formula Organic Wear 100% Natural Pressed Powder. I also use the Physicians Formula Organic Wear 100% Natural Origin Mascara. The nice thing about this brand is that you can find it at Meijer, Target or Walgreens. I still tend to order it online in case it isn’t in stock in the store, but it is sold as a wide variety of places. I wish they would make a concealer and a foundation as well! I just recently bought the Ecco Bella FlowerColor Cover Up concealer. It is a stick concealer and does work well with a concealer brush to cover up red spots or acne. It is a bit thicker than I am used to and doesn’t work how I like for my under eyes. I have heard good things from friends about the Juice Beauty concealer, I am just not really into spending $20+ on concealer! I am currently searching for a cream concealer for the under eye area that is free from the top 10-15 chemicals to avoid, but not organic, as they are hard to find. Physicians Formula non-organic line doesn’t contain most of these chemicals, I just haven’t had a chance to read individual labels. I personally do not wear primer, lipstick, lip gloss or eye shadow. I do sometimes wear a bit of charcoal eyeliner and am currently searching for a lead-free one.

Misc: The other thing I just recently bought and am loving are the Seventh Generation Free & Clear Dryer Sheets. They are all natural, plant based dryer sheets. We actually stopped using dryer sheets because even the free and clear ones were irritating my skin. There dryer sheets work great and are almost like paper? It’s hard to describe but they look and feel much different from traditional dryer sheets, but they work very well. I haven’t seen them in store anywhere and I typically buy a lot of things off Amazon instead of stopping at a bunch of different stores. I have a literal mountain of Amazon boxes I will have to post a picture of. On Amazon, these dryer sheets also come in Lavender if you want an actual scent. I wrote a previous post about natural, mineral sunscreen that you can see here. We switched to the mineral sunscreen last year after doing a lot of research and talking to our dermatologist. We have been using the Jason Mineral Sunscreen 30 SPF and I am hoping to find one with a 15 SPF for this summer. If anyone uses a natural, mineral sunscreen with 15 SPF, let me know what brand it is, as I am having a hard time finding one!

 

Leave a Reply

