Book Review: Reclaiming Hope by Michael Wear

Reclaiming Hope: Lessons Learned in the Obama White House about the Future of Faith in America by Michael Wear

Published January 17, 2017 by Thomas Nelson

Genres Nonfiction, Christian

Pages 304

Amazon / Goodreads

 

Before he had turned twenty-one, Michael Wear found himself deep inside the halls of power in the Obama administration as one of the youngest-ever White House staffers. Appointed by the president in 2008 to the Office of Faith-based and Neighborhood Partnerships and later directing faith outreach for the president s 2012 re-election campaign, Wear threw himself wholeheartedly into transforming hope into change, experiencing first-hand the highs and lows of working as a Christian in government.

The synopsis goes on to describe how Wear provides “more than a memoir of the Obama administration” and that the book is also a “passionate call for faith the public square, particularly for Christians to see politics as a means of loving one’s neighbor and of pursuing justice for all while promoting racial reconciliation and fighting for religious freedom for people of all faiths.”

I was slightly concerned about reading this book when the publisher sent me a review copy. If you have been following my blog, you know that I am a Christian and a Republican. I also have very firm political beliefs and I did not vote for Obama, nor was I particularly happy with a lot of the things he did while in office. Before I continue, here’s a disclaimer: I am not homophobic or racist. I treat everyone with the same amount of love and respect. I have been taught my whole life that you “love thy neighbor as thyself” and it is something I believe strongly in. Now that I have stated those facts, if you do not hold the same beliefs, feel free to pass by this review! So the book is broken up into chapters regarding different years during the Obama’s presidency and some of the issues that were dealt with. I was of course particularly interested in the chapter about abortion. Some of things that the author wrote in this chapter I wasn’t a huge fan of but he was trying to explain a difficult topic so it’s understandable. The same goes for the chapter that deals with gay marriage.

I thought it was an interesting book and an interesting perspective on some of the issues that Obama had to deal with during his time in office. However, I am surprised that a Christian publisher published this book. Even though Obama states he is a Christian, I don’t know a single Christian who supports abortion or is even pro-choice. Not a practicing Christian anyway. So I am surprised that a Christian publishing company wanted to publish a book focusing on a man who says he is a Christian but supports a lot of things that contradict Christian beliefs. It was an interesting perspective on Obama administration and how faith played a part in some of the decisions that President Obama made while in office. The book is well written and the author does a good job at talking about his experience in the White House involving a wide range of topics.

Thank you to the publisher for sending a review copy of this book.

 

Leave a Reply

