Book Review: Conspiracy of Silence by Ronie Kendig

Conspiracy of Silence (Tox Files #1) by Ronie Kendig

Published December 1, 2016 by Bethany House Publisher

Genres Christian Fiction, Mystery, Suspense

Pages 416

Amazon

Four years after a tragic mission decimated his career and his team, Cole “Tox” Russell is persona non grata to the United States. And that’s fine—he just wants to be left alone. But when a dormant, centuries-old disease is unleashed at an archaeological dig where three Bronze-era censers are found, Tox is lured back into action. Partnered with an archaeologist and an FBI agent who’s an expert in deception, Tox and his team are pitted against a secret society, a plague dubbed the New Black Death, and a revered codex—which may hold the key to stopping the deadly outbreak.

This is the first book I have read by the author and I was intrigued with a story that had archaeology in the plot as that is what I studied in my undergrad. Anyway, so as you can see by the books description, basically a dormant, centuries-old disease is unleashed during an archaeological dig. I was slightly overwhelmed by the large number of characters that were introduced in the first few chapters. I am not a fan of this writing approach; I prefer authors introduce characters gradually if possible. If not, I find I have difficulty keeping them straight and I don’t get as invested in their individual story if I keep getting confused about exactly who they are and what they are doing. I will say that the book itself was very interesting, as it mixed in things from several different genres including suspense/thriller, some information in regards to the history of Judaism and other aspects like the plague and the templar knights. When I first read the description, it reminded me a bit of the Da Vinci Code because of all the secret society and the codex.

Overall, I thought it was an interesting read and did find that the author did have good character development as the story went along. I have heard from other bloggers that reading the novella before reading this book helps with the overwhelming character introductions in the first few chapters, so I guess maybe check that out first before reading this book. Thank you to the publisher, Bethany House Publisher, for sending me a review copy of this book.

 

Leave a Reply

