The Beginner’s Bible Review

The Beginner’s Bible: Timeless Children’s Stories

Published on October 4, 2016 by Zondervan

Buy on Amazon

So as I am sure you have figured out by now, I review and blog for some publishing companies. They will send me books, lately different editions of Bible’s and I review them on my blog and other sites. This has been one of my favorite Bibles I have received so far because it’s a children’s edition and I have never seen anything like it! I wish I had one when I was young!

FullSizeRender(1).jpg

So first when you open the Bible, there is a contents page with the Old Testament and New Testament where the stories are listed. So for example, the stories under the Old Testament are as follows: The Beginning, Adam and Eve, The Sneaky Snake, Noah’s Ark, The Tall Tower, A New Home, etc. And the stories for the New Testament are as follows; An Angel Visits Mary, Baby Jesus is Born, Shepherds Visit, Simeon and Anna Meet Baby Jesus, The Bright Star and Three Visitors, etc. Every single page has a picture which is great, as this Bible is designed for children ages 4-8 and contains about 90 favorite Bible stories. By favorite I believe they mean well known.

FullSizeRender(2).jpg

This is also the type of Bible that would be very useful in a Children in Worship or Sunday School program. And it’s actually really reasonably priced for such a big, well illustrated book. As for the contents, I do agree that  these are certainly the most well known Bible stories and obviously the text has been broken down from it’s original form into much shorter stories. The illustrations on every page are also pretty great and I think would hold a child’s attention and help them to actually become interested in the story being told. In the back of the Bible, there are one simple map and then a glossary of terms that would also help children understand what is being talked about in the bible stories.

 

FullSizeRender(3).jpg

Overall, I am very impressed with this children’s Bible. Like I said, I have never seen one quite like this before. I have seen books of Bible stories or an illustrated edition, but never one designed specifically for children that contains many of the most well known stories, as well as such great illustrations! I highly recommend this to children between the ages of 4-8 and honestly, I think you could probably read it to children younger then 4 as well. And as I mentioned, I think it would also be a great Bible for programs such as VBS, Children in Worship and Sunday School!

Leave a Reply

