Traveling Light by Max Lucado

Traveling Light: Releasing The Burdens You Were Never Intended to Bear by Max Lucado

Published April 16, 2006 by Thomas Nelson

Genres Non Fiction, Christian, Religion

Pages 240

Buy on Amazon

Buy on Book Depository

Weary travelers. You’ve seen them; everything they own crammed into their luggage. Staggering through terminals and hotel lobbies with overstuffed suitcases, trunks, duffels and backpacks. Backs ache, feet burn, eyelids droop. We’ve all seen people like that and at times, we are people like that, if not with our physical luggage, then at least with our spiritual load. We all lug loads we were never intended to carry. Fear. Worry. Discontent. No wonder we get so weary. We’re worn out from carrying that excess baggage. Wouldn’t it be nice to lose some of those bags? With the Twenty-third Psalm as our guide, it lets us release some of the burdens we were never intended to bear. Using these verses as a guide, the author walks us through a helpful inventory of our burdens. May God use this Psalm to remind you to release the burdens you were never meant to bear.

This is the first book I have read by Max Lucado but I really enjoyed it! Which pleases me because I have purchased almost every book he has written from different thrift stores, so I am not excited to read the rest of them. Traveling Light basically breaks down Psalm 23 line and by line and it explains it in relation to the above explanation of the book. Just in case you need a refresher:

“The Lord is my Shepard, I shall not be in want. He makes me lie down in green pastures. He leads me beside quiet waters. He restores my soul. He guides me in the paths of righteousness for his name’s same. Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil. For You are with me. You rod and your staff, they comfort me. You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies. You anoint my head with oil; my cup overflows. Surely goodness and love will follow me all the days of my life and I will dwell in the house of the Lord forever.”

The author breaks this very well known passage down into 18 different chapters. I chose to read one a day, as I find that books such as these are better read like that, so you can truly read and think about each chapter. Lucado talks about how we are all carrying burdens around with us that we don’t need to; fear, worry, guilty, discontent, jealousy, etc. And how we will be so much happier if we can just set them down. For the most part, I agreed with everyone he said and I really enjoyed his writing, he’s actually really funny. A few of the chapter that dealt with anxiety and depression I don’t completely agree with. I am a Christian, but I have also suffered from anxiety, depression and obsessive compulsive disorder for most of my life. And there is a fine line when it comes to discussing how religion can help with mental illness. I find that many Christian’s and Christian authors believe you can “pray away the disorder” and you can’t. Mental illnesses are biological in nature, that’s a scientific fact. Anyway, beyond that item, I really enjoyed the book. His writing is excellent and he adds in a lot of personal stories that are easy to relate to and help get his point across. I look forward to reading more of his books in the near future, happy reading!

Leave a Reply

