To All The Non-Believers

To all the non-believers; I have been wanting to write a blog post like this for quite a while and after an incident last week, I believe it is the right time. Immigrants originally came to America because of the religious freedom that was offered. And as much as I would like to say that is still the case today, we all know it has changed. But not in the way you are probably thinking. I have noticed more and more over the years that religious people (whether you are Christian, Jewish, Muslim, Hindu, etc.) seem to be tip toeing around the atheists and agnostics, trying very hard not to offend them. However, in the mean time, I do not see any of them trying not to offend those who are believers. Seems a bit one sided doesn’t it?

Trust me, I know that some people assume that all Christian’s are bigots and homophobic and judgemental. And some of them are. I can only speak for myself, my husband, my family. I am not a bigot or homophobic and I try my best not to be judgemental just like I hope everyone else does. My views on most issues come directly from my religious beliefs. That doesn’t make me homophobic or close-minded, it just means that I am trying my best to follow the teachings of my religion.

I have several people in my life who I love very much, who are not believers, and I made a decision a long time ago not to push it on them. I know that as a Christian, that is the opposite of what I am called to do. “Go, therefore, and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe everything. I have commanded you. And remember, I am with you always, to the very end of the age.” -Matthew 28:19 I know that God wants me to go and tell others, but I think he understands why in certain cases, you wouldn’t keep trying. If someone is truly set in their beliefs, or non-beliefs, I don’t want to ruin a long relationship by trying unsuccessfully to make them believe. I choose instead to talk openly about my religion and my beliefs in the hope that one day, they will start asking questions.

I needed to give a slight amount of background there before I explain the one-sided comment in the first paragraph. So now, everyone is scared to offend or upset the non-believers, which seems a bit backwards to me? If you don’t believe in anything and no one is pushing their beliefs on you, I guess I am confused as to how or why you would be offended. I agree with the separation of anything religious from public schools because there are bound to be a mix of different religions (which is why my children, when I have them, will be attending private Christian schools) and that just causes problems. What I notice now more and more, is that many atheists and the agnostics don’t have any respect for Christians. I can not tell you how many times a week I hear the Lord’s name taken in vain in many different forms, in front of me and to me, when people know I am a believer. I am not even sure how this came to be an “expression” in the first place. You wouldn’t yell, “Robert!” or “Jasper!” when you became angry or upset, because that would just sound silly right? So why is it that yelling, “Jesus!” or “Jesus Christ!” doesn’t also sound silly to you? He is a person, not an expression. When I hear someone say that, it makes me want to grind my teeth, especially because they know it offends me and don’t respect me enough to find a different word. The same goes for every other variation that people have developed over the years to use the Lord’s name in vain. If you don’t believe in God, why are you shouting his name?

To all the non-believers; please have enough respect for me and other Christians, to not speak like that in my/their presence. You don’t say those words in front of your parents or children or nieces/nephews, so why not stop saying them altogether? At least have the respect not to say it in front of people who you know are Christians. Love and respect can fix a lot of problems in this world, but it can’t be one-sided.

 

Leave a Reply

