Carry On, Warrior by Glennon Doyle Melton

b

Carry On, Warrior: The Power of Embracing Your Messy, Beautiful Life by Glennon Doyle Melton

Published on April 8, 2014 by Scribner

Genres Memoir, Non-Fiction, Spirituality, Self Help

Pages 320

Buy on Amazon

Buy on Book Depository

Carry On, Warrior is a collection of Glennon Doyle Melton’s personal essays exploring the power of living with love, forgiveness and honesty. Melton is also hilarious. I purchased this book after seeing it on several of my friends and relatives social media pages without ever reading a single blog post Melton wrote. And let me tell you, I was not disappointed. This might possibly be a very long review, so if you aren’t in the mood for a very long review, I highly suggest you skip the review and just read the book.

Carry On, Warrior talks about the hard stuff that sometimes people don’t want to talk about. I am not a mother yet, but I have watched and heard the good and the bad from my sister and one of my best friends. But mostly, I hear the good. I read a lot of articles about pregnancy and parenting, but it’s mostly about the good. I rarely read about things that are hard and that is exactly what Melton talks about is this book. Don’t get me wrong, she talks about all the good things too; her faith, her family, her love, her peace and how grateful she is for all of it, even in the mist of Lyme disease and other hard things. I think that is one of the reasons I loved this book so much. Lately I have been noticing the people around me who seem truly ungrateful for what they have. We all have those days where we complain about everything and think, “Life’s not fair.” I think that’s normal? But when you never tell other people or God, what you are grateful for, it becomes a problem. When you truly do not realize how lucky you are that’s a problem. that When I was reading this book, I can’t tell you how many times I laughed out loud; the author is hilarious. A lot of the humor is because the stories are real and they are situations most of us have found ourselves in before, whether or not you are a parent. I was concerned that because I have not yet had a child, that I might feel “out of place” while reading this book, but that was not the case at all. I want to buy this book for all the ladies in my life because I loved it that much. I said this would be a long review because while reading it, I kept writing down page numbers on a Post-It note on the back inside cover of the book, with quotes or stories I wanted to bookmark and share in a review.

“I like to compare God’s love to the sunrise. The sun shows up every morning, no matter how bad you’ve been the night before. It shines without judgement. It never withholds. It warms the sinners, the saints, the druggies, the cheerleaders – the saved and the heathens alike. You can hide from the sun, but it won’t take that personally. It’ll never, ever punish you for hiding. You stay in the dark for years or decades and when you finally step outside, it’ll be there. It was there the whole time, shining and shining. It’ll still be there, steady and bright as ever, just waiting for you to notice, to come out, to be warmed. “

Yes, Melton is a Christian. There is a lot of talk about Jesus and God, however, even if that’s not your thing, I still think you will enjoy this book. As I read back through the the pages I had marked on the post it, most are either a whole story or something that taken out of the context of the story/page, either wouldn’t be funny or wouldn’t make sense. I highly, highly recommend you read this book. It’s real, it’s true and it’s hilarious. It is categorized under many different genres on Goodreads, one being self-help, but it is not a self-help book. I’m not a very big fan of self-help books. This is a memoir of the author’s life and experiences, in addition to her thoughts about certain things, quotes from authors and other famous people. I think the reason I really enjoyed it, besides the fact that it is hilarious, is that it is real. She doesn’t really sugar coat anything and I can’t tell you how many chapters I read thinking, “Finally. I’m not the only one.” Even if this is outside your normal area of reading or if you aren’t really a reader at all (I can convert you) buy this book! Happy reading and Carry On, Warrior.

Leave a Reply

